how to study for the LSAT in under two weeks

The countdown to the October 3rd LSAT is down to single-digit days… Yikes. Whether you’ve been studying all year or just started last week, don’t spend the next (less than) two weeks freaking out or trying to cram. Instead, make the most out of these remaining days and kill it on test day.

Sacrifice your social life.

Unless you’ve literally isolated yourself in a bubble of LSAT prep materials, at some point within the last couple of months, you’ve fallen victim to FOMO (Fear of Missing Out). In fact, I was a victim to FOMO a couple weekends ago when I drove 2 ½ hours for an away football game. The weekend before that, I treated myself to a night out downtown… The point is, it’s OK if you’ve recently gone out with friends or put your social life first—but now it’s time to buckle down.

Extra tip: avoid social media during these next couple weeks to help ease the FOMO.

Be transparent with your family, friends, employers, co-workers, neighbors, roommates, pets, and everyone else. Let them know that October 3rd is eight short days away, and you’ll be alone in your own world of logical reasoning until then. They will understand.

Last week, my successful, boss-lady aunt addressed my obvious symptoms of FOMO. She gave me some valuable advice: “Work hard and be successful, and I promise you won’t be missing out on anything.” Her words stuck with me and helped me focus. Just think of what others will be missing out on once you get into the law school of your dreams, and eventually, the career of your dreams.

Remember that quality > quantity.

Make sure you are reading the best LSAT prep books and using the most helpful materials on the market.

I’ve tried a few different test prep companies, and here are my favorite materials:

  1. PowerScore Logic Games Bible
  2. PowerScore Logical Reasoning Bible
  3. PowerScore Reading Comprehension Bible
  4. Every LSAT test ever released, ever.

Obviously, the skills you should work on will depend on where you are right now. If you don’t know where you stand, take a timed practice test so you can evaluate your strengths and weaknesses.

Make your health a priority.

My regular routine includes visiting the gym at least four times a week. About a month ago when I started intensely studying for the LSAT, I didn’t exercise for more than a week! During that time of no physical activity, I noticed my mood changing frequently and my brain getting overworked too easily. I had to take a lot of breaks, which usually included binge eating, online shopping, and simply getting off track. As it turned out, the two hours I thought was “saving” every day by skipping the gym actually made me less productive.

For those who don’t usually exercise, try it out to relieve stress or lighten your mood. Take it from my idol, Elle Woods: “Exercise releases endorphins. Endorphins make you happy.”

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_40bwv7pzbr0gs80888kg8oc8w_640

Along these same lines, make sure you’re eating right and staying hydrated. Your brain needs fuel!

Good luck!

This test is nothing like a college midterm that you can pull an all-nighter study for and somehow crank out a C+. Studying for the LSAT is a process of training your brain to think a certain way, rather than memorizing terms.

As one University of Iowa law student put it, “Compare the LSAT to training at the gym; you won’t see results unless you dedicate yourself and consistently put the time in to get better.”

Leave a Reply

