3 ways to make the most of Thanksgiving break

It’s no surprise how fast Thanksgiving break flies by. It’s tempting to hibernate on the living room couch during this precious week off from class. But, every time I return to campus after break, I realize I shouldn’t have spent the ENTIRE week doing nothing.

Thanksgiving break is obviously a time to be grateful for family, friends, and food. It’s a time to unwind and leave the stress behind for a week. However, it’s always a good idea to utilize the free time you have during break to your advantage — here are 3 ways to make the most of it.

1. Dedicate at least a few hours to school work.

As I’ve learned year after year, the week after Thanksgiving break turns into finals week in the blink of an eye.

Take a couple of days to check off some things on your to-do list; make sure you are fully prepared to finish the semester strong.

2. Get organized.

Get your planner in check. Write out your due dates and final exam times on a calendar. Finalize your schedule for next semester.

Don’t get freaked out, but know what you have coming up so you can tackle your to-do list accordingly.

(Related: click here for a free printable to-do list)

3. Catch up on sleep.

Busy college students hardly get any rest. It’s easy to get burnt out when you’re giving 110% every single day.

Use this week to refresh your brain and catch up on the sleep you’ve lost. I always find myself making excuses for my lack of sleep, and I tell myself I don’t need as much sleep as everyone else — but the truth is, a good night of sleep does wonders for the brain. I think with much more clarity when I’m well rested.

This is your body without sleep (Infographic via mindbodygreen.com):

dangers of no sleep

Take advantage of not being in an apartment/house of noisy college students, and give your brain the rest it deserves this week to prepare for the busy weeks ahead.

 

Leave a Reply

